Webcast Categories
Advance Search
  • Date: February 24,2016

    Time: 6:00 pm

    Venue: C. D. Deshmukh Auditorium



    Speakers: Shri Soli J. Sorabjee, former Attorney-General of India and President IIC

    Prof. Neera Chandhoke,Visiting Professor, Centre for law and Governance, jawaharlal Nehru University

    Shri K.P. Fabian, former Ambassador and Visiting Professor, Indian Society of International Law

    Prof. Shiv Visvanathan, Professor, Jindal School of Government and Public Policy

    Moderator: Shri Suhas Borker, Convener, Working Group on Alternative Strategies

  • Date: December 5,2013

    Time: 6:30 pm

    Venue: Conference Room 1

    Title: The Past Before Us: Historical Traditions in Early North India


    Prof. Kesavan Veluthat, Dept. of History, University of Delhi; Prof. Najaf Haider; and Dr. Kumkum Roy, Centre for Historical Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University will discuss The Past Before Us: Historical Traditions in Early North India by Romila Thapar (New Delhi: Permanent Black, 2013)


    Chair: Prof. Uday Kumar, Dept. of English, University of Delhi

  • Date: September 12,2013

    Time: 06:30 pm

    Venue: Seminar Halls I,II & III

    Title: Towards the De-criminalization of Politics


    Towards the De-criminalization of Politics

    Speaker: Prof. Trilochan Sastry, Professor IIM Bangalore and Chairman, Association for Democratic Reforms

    Discussant: Shri N. Gopalaswami, former Chief Election Commissioner of India

    Chair: Shri Ramachandra Guha

    An important aspect of Electoral Reforms is criminalization of politics and the role of money in elections. Civil society, the Media and the Courts have played an active role of late in addressing the issue. The discussion will present an overview of important developments over the last ten years, as well as a comprehensive analysis based on data from the Election Commission

  • Date: August 19,2011

    Time: 18:30

    Venue: Conference Room 1

    Title: The Andre Beteille Omnibus - Meet the Author: Prof. Andre Beteille


    Panelists: Prof. Dipankar Gupta; Prof. S.S. Jodhka; and Prof. Nandini Sundar, University of Delhi
    Chair: Shri Soli J. Sorabjee

  • Date: July 19,2011

    Time: 18:30

    Venue: C. D. Deshmukh Auditorium

    Title: The Environmentalist of the Poor: A Tribute to Chandi Prasad Bhatt


    To celebrate the life and work of the great pioneering environmentalist Chandi Prasad Bhatt. Founder of the Chipko movement, Padma Bhushan and Magsaysay award winner, Chandi Prasad ji has played a landmark role in the growth and development of the environment movement in India and beyond
    (Collaboration: People’s Association for Himalaya Area Research; and National Book Trust)

    Shri Chandi Prasad Bhatt will be present on the occasion

    Speakers: Shri Anupam Mishra, Gandhi Peace Foundation; Shri Shekhar Pathak, People’s Association for Himalaya Area Research (Pahar); Shri Ramesh Pahari, Aniket; Dr. Ramchandra Guha, New India Foundation; and Shri Jairam Ramesh, Minister for Environment and Forest

    Chair: Prof. Pushpesh Pant